L – O – V – E

Ah, angst of my youth, how I do not miss thee … lol.

For National Poetry Month …

 

l – o – v – e

12-7-93

 

i hate being in love

the idealism that clutches

each “romantic” letter

l – o – v – e

love?

sighing, simpering, pining

WHINING

loving

what is it to me?

LOATHING

OPPRESSING

VANISHING

EVERYTHING

my Achilles’ heel

my own garden

raking the dirt

digging up hurts

pulling out the weeds

planting the seeds

blossoming into something new

waiting to be defiled by love

did i?

(misfiled?)

waiting for the first frost

naked

fragile like the hummingbird

caught in the honey-flower

snapping like wood

crackling and popping

in the fireplace

(kettle corn)

like popcorn

in the microwave

(automatically done in two minutes and twenty seconds)

fleeting …

marriage, divorce, remarriage

your kids = his kids + her kids

cycling and recycling

stepbrothers, stepsisters,

half brothers, half sisters,

real brothers and sisters?

stepmothers, stepfathers

parents

foster parents

adoptive parents

real parents?

CONFUSING

M

E

where’s the love?

the romance?

has it drowned?

been

B

U

R

I

E

D

UNDER

ground?

alive?

STILLBORN.

(still born?)

every two minutes and twenty seconds.

 

2 Comments

  1. Wow 🙂 ,Been Reading this over and over Again .”Real love is forever” is inked on My left arm ,a quote from the movie “the crow” and I always belived in that ..when Its real there won’t be no confusion about it and as we grow better we meet better people ..Thank you for sharing 🙂 this made My day

    • Awww, you are too kind! Thank you. 🙂 And true, on all counts about love! You know when it’s the real thing. 🙂 I had all but given up when I met my now-husband 11 years ago. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem and thank YOU for reading it, Simon!

Leave a Reply

